/News 31.08.17


Create NSW would like to congratulate Hacksaw RidgeThe Water Diviner and most recently Ali’s Wedding screenwriter Andrew Knight who is the recipient of the 2017 Australian Writers’ Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his contribution to the Australian screen industry over more than 30 years. 

Nicknamed the ‘voice of Australia’ by Oscar®-nominated screenwriter and AWG president Jan Sardi, Knight started his career writing on classic Australian comedy TV including The D GenerationFast Forward and Full Frontal before going on to write some of the country’s biggest hits such as Rake, Jack Irish and SeaChange.

Knight adds his AWG Lifetime Achievement award to his vast collection of awards, which includes past AFI Awards, LOGIES and other AWGIEs, plus the 2015 AACTA Longford Lyell Award and 2017 Academy Award and British Academy Film Award nominations for the Create NSW supported Hacksaw Ridge.

Other Australian Writer’s Guild award recipients include:

  • Andrew Knight with Robert Schenkkan for Hacksaw Ridge – Best Feature Film (Original) award winner
  • Television – Telemovie or Miniseries award winners Kris Wyld and Kym Goldsworthy for the Create NSW supported Deep Water, starring Australian actress Yael Stone (Orange is the New Black) and Noah Taylor (Game of Thrones, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory)
  • This year’s Sydney-UNESCO City of Film Award winner Leah Purcell (director on Cleverman) who took home three awards: Stage, David Williamson Prize and the Major Award for her play The Drover’s Wife.

Congratulations also to Sydneysiders Nicole Kidman, Judy Davis, Geoffrey Rush as well as Ben Mendelson on their nominations for this year’s 69th Emmy® Awards, highlighted for their roles in Big Little LiesFeud: Bette and JoanGenius and Bloodline respectively.  The 69th Annual Primetime Emmy® Awards will take place at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Sunday 17 September 2017.